With over more than 3 million exams taken each year IELTS (International English Language Testing System) is the world’s most popular English language test.

Taking IELTS opens doors – it can help you live, study and work around the world. More than 10,000 governmental, academic and employment organisations in 140 countries worldwide accept IELTS.

IELTS is the only English language test accepted for immigration purposes by all countries.

If you are applying for a visa to move to or stay in the UK, IELTS is on the list of approved secure English Language Tests. 

IELTS is jointly owned by the British Council, IDP: IELTS Australia and Cambridge Assessment English.

IELTS and the Common European Framework of Reference

IELTS is recognized by the Council of Europe. The Common European Framework of Reference (CEFR) provides a basis for the mutual recognition of language qualifications, thus facilitating educational and occupational mobility.

CEFR level IELTS score range
Pre-intermediate (A2) 2.5-3.5
Intermediate (B1) 4.0-5.0
Upper-intermediate (B2) 5.5-6.5
Advanced (C1) 7.0-8.0
Proficiency (C2) * 8.5-9.0

* Please note that under the Hungarian system there is no C2 level, therefore all IELTS nationalisation above the range of 7.0 will yield a C1 Hungarian equivalent.

For extra preparation advice, you can check out TakeIELTS.

For more information about the test please go to IELTS.org.

Register for IELTS now!

In this section